Celebrating the achievement of Australian contemporary classical, jazz and experimental music, the 2018 Art Music Awards were held yesterday, 21 August in Melbourne.

Now in its eighth year, the Awards recognise achievement in the composition, performance, education and presentation of Australian art music, which covers work across contemporary classical music, contemporary jazz and improvised music, experimental music and sound art.

Here are the winners by categories in the 2018 National Art Music Awards:

· Orchestral Work of the Year - Paul Stanhope · Instrumental Work of the Year - Lisa Illean · Vocal / Choral Work of the Year - Mary Finsterer · Jazz Work of the Year - American Counterpoint, Matthew Sheens · Performance of the Year - Eighth Blackbird · Award for Excellence by an Organisation- Tura New Music · Award for Excellence by an Individual - Carl Vine AO · Award for Excellence in Music Education - Young Music Society Inc · Award for Excellence in a Regional Area - Big hART for Acoustic Life of Sheds · Award for Excellence in Experimental Music (for works, people or events) - Chamber Made · Award for Excellence in Jazz (for works, people or events) - Sandy Evans

Incoming APRA AMCOS Chief Executive, Dean Ormston, says the Awards are a tribute to the outstanding efforts of individuals and organisations who continue to champion Australian art music in diverse contexts, both here and internationally. “The Art Music Awards honour the innovative and inspiring work of the many composers, creators, educators and organisations that are making a difference in Australia and beyond. Along with APRA AMCOS’ presenting partner, the Australian Music Centre, we are looking forward to an evening that acknowledges such a vital and trailblazing music community.” Winners for the Awards were presented in 11 National categories, along with an award for each Australian state or territory, selected from one of the national categories. The APRA Board of Directors also awarded an award for Distinguished Services to Australian Music. Previous recipients of this honour include Richard Gill OAM, George Dreyfus AM, Helen Gifford OAM and late composer Peter Sculthorpe.

Find out more in the 2018 Art Music Awards website here.