Photographer: Gregory Lorenzutti and Frank Cecconi

Melbourne's artistic community celebrated like never before with the 36th Annual Green Room Awards on Monday, 1 April 2019.

Announcing 62 winners in 111 productions, the event is now in its 36th year, with the Green Room Awards Association (GRAA) organising the event to honour the excellence and innovation in our vibrant Arts sector.

The Green Room Awards recognise outstanding achievements in productions from Cabaret, Contemporary and Experimental Performance, Dance, Independent Theatre, Music Theatre, Opera, and Theatre Companies. The awards acknowledge the contributions of the many diverse Artists and Technicians who create work in our local industry.

“In 2019 we also welcome the arrival in Melbourne of our sister awards, the Helpmanns. They have a national focus and tend to acknowledge the work of the big commercial music theatre productions and mainstage shows. The Green Room Awards, by comparison, are focused on Victoria with a (non-exclusive) emphasis on the independent and small-medium sector. So the two awards have quite different remits. The GRA ceremony is always a brilliant night of celebration,” GRAA President Hilary Glow.

Every year the GRAA present four special awards at the ceremony to individuals whose careers have been hugely significant for the sector. This year, the Green Room Awards honour the following women whose dedication and work have shaped the landscape of the local industry, and beyond. The Outstanding Contribution to Cabaret will be presented to Linda Catalano, Technical Achievement Award to Roslyn Oades, the Geoffrey Milne Memorial Award for Outstanding Contribution to Contemporary and Experimental Performance has been awarded to Jude Anderson and Patricia Cornelius is the recipient of the 2019 GRA Lifetime Achievement Award.

Hosted by legends of Melbourne performance Anni Davey and Maude Davey, the 2019 ceremony will be a jam-packed night with live performances.

Committed to awarding the best in the performing arts, see the full list of winners for this year's Green Room Awards here!